Reading Writers Constitution


  1. The name of the association shall be Reading Writers.
  2. The objectives of the association are to provide mutual support and to advance writing skills. In furtherance of this objective the association shall:
    1. Meet regularly to read and evaluate members’ manuscripts
    2. Offer critiques of manuscript drafts
    3. Offer a varied programme with a writing-related structure
  3. The association shall be non-party political and non-sectarian.
  4. Membership shall rely on payment of an annual subscription, the amount to be decided by the elected committee.
  5. Annual subscriptions are payable during the first meeting in January, or as near that date as possible. New members joining after the summer break will pay half the annual subscription.
  6. Visitors are invited to attend two meetings before becoming members.
  7. Management of the association shall be vested in an elected committee consisting of the following officers:
    1. Honorary Chairman
    2. Honorary Communications Secretary
    3. Honorary Treasurer
    4. Honorary Secretary
    5. A maximum of three other members
  8. Officers and committee shall be elected at the Annual General Meeting and serve until the end of the next AGM.
  9. Four members of the committee shall constitute a quorum.
  10. The committee may appoint sub-committees as necessary and shall prescribe their function provided that all acts and proceedings of any such sub-committee shall be reported to the committee as soon as possible.
  11. Winning entries shall be circulated for all competitions.
  12. The association shall aim for around 25 standard memberships with a maximum of 30 and a small number of flexible discretionary memberships.